Looking to build a gaming machine ~$700-800

juicy

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
Hi all, this is my first time building a computer, mostly because I've caught the gaming fever. I want this machine to be a solid gaming machine. Not the ultimate machine, though, I'm not filthy rich.

Anyway, can people suggest motherboards for me? I'm definitely not comfortable with my mobo knowledge. I know a little bit about them, but my head starts spinning when people talk about stuff like bus speeds and sockets and stuff.

Did some research, and so far, I'm thinking of a machine like:

gfx card: ATI X850 XT (alrdy ordered)
cpu: A64 3700+ San Diego (might try out the OC thing)
RAM: not sure yet, 1 GB of some brand (corsair?)
power supply: not sure yet, 400W should be enough?
fans: two in, two out? or is that overkill?
sound: don't care, anything onboard is fine

Already ordered the gfx card today, and already having second thoughts after reading stuff about how it doesn't support a technology called SM 3.0, which is supposed to be important for future games. Is this a big deal? Should I cancel the order?

Any suggestions would be welcome (preferably less than 100 bucks for mobo, but I can spend a lil more than a hundred if value is worth it). I don't need anything fancy for mobo, just want something that'll let the comp run games well. Thanks for reading!

dmantech

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2006
For a Mobo I would go with the asus A8N-SLI Premium even if you are not using SLI. One of the advantages of this board other than sli is it's silent design (copper heat pipe) on chipset instead of a noisy fan. On the IO board you have your normal layout but also additional audio options like coax or optical
if you do not have a add on soundcard. There are more goodies that comes with this board also
Asus A8N-SLI Premium, X2 4400+ 2Gig corsair XMS
Seagate 250 Gig HD, X1900XT 512, Creative XFI,
550 watt PSU. :lol:

PCKid777

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2005