neo 4 platinum raid boot problem

frost_fenix

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2006
i am new to the msi and nforce setup... i usually buy asus. now i am trying to setup a raid with my two raptor sata drives.

so far i have managed to setup a raid on the silicon image and intstall windows but when it finishes copying files and is supposed to go to the xp install screen (after it reboots) the computer boots to a black screen. i did the same thing on the nforce chipset where i set up raid and enabled it in bios on the sata ports, copied windows files and rebooted only to be greeted again by a black screen.

everything in bios can see the raid and on all the posts it shows up as being functional.

do i have to use the nforce raid? or can i use the silicon raid first? one other thing... im installing xp pro from a disk that came with a dell and it says something to the nature of "dell reinstall os disk" or somthing... anyone know off the top of their heads if that is a problem? i can try installing with a regular windows xp home disk but if anyone knows it could save me a few minutes

I have a bootable raid 1 array on this board. I used the nvidia controller as it supports 300mb/s (which my drives are) and the silicon image only supports 150mb/s.

In the raid controller setup, make sure the array is set to bootable. Once this is done, go into the bios and set the boot order to use the array. It shouldn't matter if it's the the second or 3rd device in the order as long as it's in there. I have mine set to CD first, array second.