Windows 7

chris74

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2011
I have windows 7 on my laptop that I ordered. I decided to install the same disk on my PC not knowing that I could not do this. It worked perfect for a couple of months and then said I needed to purchase a valid key. I had windows XP installed on it previously. My PC says that I am running a counterfeit version of windows 7. I am a student and was looking at purchasing the windows 7 upgrade, but I am unsure that it will work on my PC. Would all I have to do is enter in the new upgrade product key, or would I have to do a clean install again? Or purchase a full version because I also do not have my previous XP product key because my ex stole my disk from me. But there should be a way that I can get it off the computer, yes, no?
Thanks

Solution
If you installed OEM 7 Pro, you need to get the same license to activate your setup. A motherboard change would at least require you to call MS to get a re-activation, but they generally do that with no hassle.

Don't worry about 32 vs 64 bit, that is really only relevant if you will use more than 4 gig of RAM.
In your case, you need to get either an OEM Win 7 disk or a regular Win 7 disk.

Unless you have the XP setup on the computer, or the media for it, you won't be able to use the Upgrade version.

If you contact MS they can probably help you sort this out, they may be able to sell you a key that will work on your setup now so you don't have to reinstall anything, just enter the new code.

Well, every time I buy milk, I pay the same per gallon, even though I get way more milk than new operating systems. Not every purchase has to have a discount if you use lots of it. Gas does not cost less the more you buy either.

Besides, they do offer student licenses, as well as enterprise and bulk OEM keys that are cheaper than regular prices. So your "should" is actually "they do".

chris74

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2011