Please Help with my First Build. How's this Look?

Sinnerx96

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2006
Hey Guys,

This is my first Build. I'm fairly confident that I won't have any trouble. Just want some advice about my Choices. The main part I'm not sure of, is the Cpu. Mainly, Weather or not a Dual Core would make much difference for me. I want a decent step up from my Current system(which will be going to an Office for business use). I will be taking the Sound Card, TV Tuner, Ram, & 80gb HD over to new system.

Here's my current system;

-P4 2.4C
-Asus P4P800 Deluxe
-1gb(2X512) Kingston Value DDR400
-Ati Radeon 9800 Pro Agp
-Seagate Barracuda ATA100 80gb 8mb cache
-Seagate Barracuda ATA100 40gb 2mb cache
-ATI Tv Wonder Pro PCI
-M-Audio Delta 1010 Sound Card for Audio Recording
-Uneec 330w PSU
-Generic Case

I do some Video Editing with Adobe Premiere Pro, and After Effects. And I'm getting into Photoshop as well. And I also do Audio Recording/Editing with Cubase SX3. Other than that, it's mostly Casual PC Use, with Some Gaming(Not Too important). I Will be doing some Mild Over-Clocking.

Here's what I'm concidering from Newegg;

CPU
-AMD 64 3700+ or X2 3800+ Dual Core

RAM
-1gb More of Kingston Value for Dual Channel(4X512 Total)

MOTHERBOARD
-Epox 9NPA+Ultra

VIDEO CARD
-Sapphire GTO2 or EVG 6800gs N389

CDR/DVDR
-NEC 3550a Dual Layer

HARD DRIVE
-WD 160gb Sata2 Caviar SE

PSU
-FSP Fortron AX400

MONITOR
-Vision V1721b 17" LCD

CASE
-RaidMax X1 Case

Comes to about $1,100 total. I live in NJ, so Tax from Newegg applies.

How does everything look? Should I go Dual Core X2 3800 for what I want to do? Or just stay with a 64 3700?

Thanks guys. Any help would be appreciated.

Sinnerx96

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2006
get instead of the 3700 or x2 3800 get an opty 165 and get yourself either some corsair ocz or crucial ram never get kingston never :twisted: