BIOS is gone, please help

mondaycat

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2006
Thank for coming :D

I was flashing BIOS in WindowsXP but failed, and I didn't back up the original BIOS.

When I restart PC, there is tatally nothing appear. There is no windows, no BIOS screen. It seems like CMOS is empey. (I tried removing battery already.)

Is there anyway I can make something like a BIOS recovery disk to boot and reinstall BIOS?

I e-mailed ASUS customer service and they replied me this:
http://vip.asus.com/eservice/techmailstatus.aspx?ID=WTM200602231057256393

In the middle of the letter says that my BIOS chip is non-removable.

Does that mean it is time to buy a new mobo?

I heard that If I change mobo, I have to buy another WindowsXP. Is that true? :?

My mainboard is ASUS P4B533-V

http://www.abxzone.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-29292.html

I have little knowledge about hardware. Is CMOS the chip that keep BIOS data?

thanks in advance

bombasschicken

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2006
sorry to tell you this dude... but when a bios flash fails your mobo is toast.. even if you backed it up.. unless you have one of thoes dule bios gigabyte mobos... you will have to buy a new one...

you may not have to buy a new copy of xp though.. i think its 3 major hardware changes before windows de-activates... not positive on that one though..

I didn't read your attachments, but I'll try and answer 1 question.
No, you should not need to guy another license from microsoft. Just put in the new motherboard, along with all the other components, and it should boot without a problem. I just did it over last weekend. New mobo, chip, power suply, and video card. ( all different than what was originally in there ), Threw in harddrive, booted up, installed all drivers that came on cd with mobo, went to microsoft website and did updates...no prob..........