What to do with that "old" system?

MadCraiZ

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2006
It's been a while, but ever since I started playing around with DVRing and video editing/transcoding, I've been getting that itchey finger to make some upgrades, or even build a new system. It may not be the fastest pony on the block, but my current P4-2.6 isn't just some paper weight either. Chances are I could probably just get a major memory upgrade (only 512 right now I think...and it's not even all that fast) and that should be enough to hold me off for a little bit. But when it comes time for a new system, I don't really want to have 2 towers and wouldn't want to bounce between machines even if I did.

For what PCs run these days, it's not even worth selling it. What do you guys do with your "old" systems that still have some use in them.

eviltechie

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2006
I'm tryin' to figure out the same thing. I've now got a PIII 1GHz system that's been displaced by a new Athlon 64 X2 3800+. I'm considering keeping it around for anytime the new system is down for repairs or upgrades. Or, possibly doing some outrageous mod on it, considering the system still runs perfectly.

samir_nayanajaad

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2006
set up a network. I dont have an old system to do this with yet but I am considering useing my xbox as a file server. Put the old system in a closet or something put linux on it and use it to store your music or pics. if its worth it and you have a lot of data to backup buy a big hdd to slap in it too. One thing ive heard aobut is to use linux to sort of RAID a cupple of comps, it takes some pc's and makes them into 1 large pc sort of like a JOBD RAID set up does with hdd's but thats about all I know about that. I am takeing a course this summer and thats what we are gonna do with like 20 pentium 3 computers and use the "one" pc as a server.

icbluscrn

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2006