Sign in with
Your question

Building a new gaming rig, hard drive raid question..

Last response: in Storage
March 2, 2006 3:57:36 AM

Here's what I have down on paper.

2 - Serial 2 7200 80GB drives for OS and apps (Word, Excel, Antivirus, Etc.) Raid 0. 8O
2 - Serial 1 (do they offer serial 2?) 10,000 74GB WD Raptor drives for games Raid 0. 8O
2 - IDE 7200 320GB or 400GB drives for Data (Mp3, Jpg, Etc.) and Backup on Raid 1 (on PCI IDE Raid Controller) :D 

Does having the OS and Games installed on separate HW Raid 0 partitians offer the fastest possible combination?

In fact, I will probably have all 3 raid partitions on separate controllers.

All feedback welcome!

PS. I've been running a 4 - 80GB IDE Raid 0 setup for over 2 years without data loss. All Maxtor drives.
March 2, 2006 4:38:34 AM

Quote:
Here's what I have down on paper.

2 - Serial 2 7200 80GB drives for OS and apps (Word, Excel, Antivirus, Etc.) Raid 0. 8O
2 - Serial 1 (do they offer serial 2?) 10,000 74GB WD Raptor drives for games Raid 0. 8O
2 - IDE 7200 320GB or 400GB drives for Data (Mp3, Jpg, Etc.) and Backup on Raid 1 (on PCI IDE Raid Controller) :D 

Does having the OS and Games installed on separate HW Raid 0 partitians offer the fastest possible combination?

In fact, I will probably have all 3 raid partitions on separate controllers.

All feedback welcome!

PS. I've been running a 4 - 80GB IDE Raid 0 setup for over 2 years without data loss. All Maxtor drives.