Sign in with
Your question

Gripes with Asrock 939dual and 9800 pro combo

Last response: in Overclocking
March 5, 2006 11:01:57 PM

I just built this rig and although everything looks fine on surface... it takes too long to load windows(I have the correct boot sequence). But more importantly, when I run 3dmark06 - in the first intensive graphics test - the system halts midway - the screen becomes black for about 15 seconds, all this time the machine being unresponsive and then it just restarts/reboots. What do I need to fix? This is my first build and its kinda frustrating to know that my 3-yr old 1.5ghz athlon xp machine was faster.

(I ran the directx diagnostics etc. Everything looks fine. The drivers etc have been put in the right order and are updated. Only the bios is old ver 1.5. A little scared to mess with that.)

The details of my rig:

A64 San Diego
ASrock 939 Dual-sata2
Antec TP 2.0 550W PSU
ATI Radeon 9800 pro AGP
Audigy 2 ZS
WD 80 Gigs 7200rpm IDE
OCZ performance 1 gig DDR2
Windows xp pro
March 5, 2006 11:29:30 PM

What order did you intall the drivers in?? From what I understnad (I am looking into this board and am considering buying it), you HAVE to install the latest version of the boards AGP drivers before you install the card drivers or it will run like crap. There are a lot of threads on this forum, and on the Newegg reviews about the same problem you are having.

Most people I think had to reload Windows to fix.
March 6, 2006 2:11:51 PM

Hi.
I did intall the drivers in the right order, since I had done my HW in advance. I had no trouble getting the machine up and running. I actually played around with the BIOS a little bit, since I last posted here... changed the way my RAM was working... a few parameters here and there - and now the 3dmark runs ok but very slow performance still. I am still looking for specific guidelines to resolve this issue. Also sytem boots take forever.