Sign in with
Your question
Closed

No More System Sound on my Laptop

Last response: in Components
March 6, 2006 10:54:18 AM

I have a Sony VAIO VGN-T350P with Windows XP SP2 and have been using it for about 7 months. I really have no issues with the laptop and it has been working like a champ until two days ago. For some odd reason, the system sounds no longer function and not audio is coming from the onboard speakers or the headphone plug. Under sound settings, the system tells me I have no device present. I tried to reinstall the ADI SoundMax audio drivers from Sony's website without luck. I also tried to reinstall SP2 but that didn't work either. I have no conflicts under device manager and the "device usage" under the Audio Codecs property is gray out. Does anyone have quick fixes?

Help!

Kevin

More about : system sound laptop

March 6, 2006 10:55:20 PM

Electronics do die on occcasion, and I have plenty of experience with that. Sometimes, you might have to just buy a replacement (in this case, a notebook soundcard which might push you back around $60).
March 8, 2006 11:58:45 AM

Do you know if the soundcard inside the Sony VGN-T350P is replaceable? I could not find any repalcement parts online for it or any documents on how to replace it.

Thank you.
Related resources
March 8, 2006 2:57:57 PM

The sound will probably be integrated into the motherboard so you will not be able to replace just the sound.

Try these troubleshooting tips first:

How to troubleshoot sound problems.

Solution:

The following are possible diagnostic steps to isolate and resolve this issue:

Check to see if the built-in speakers are turned off - Press Fn+F3 to turn on the speakers.
The speaker volume may be turned to the minimum - Press Fn+F4, and then press the arrow keys to increase the volume.If the computer is powered by batteries, check that the battery packs are inserted properly and that they are charged.