Sign in with
Your question

ASUS en6800 problems !!!PLEASE HELP ME!!!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 11, 2006 5:24:44 AM

Ok first off, if you are reading this... thanks.

Ok so i just built a computer for my g/f to play WoW on, its my first build.

Here are the specs:

Cpu: athalon mobile xp 2800+ 754 pin
(yeah sounds kinda wierd but thats what Newegg listed the mobo cpu combo as a 754pin athalon XP wierd.... I always thought xp's were all socket A)

Mobo: PC Chips M871G (v1.5)

Ram: Gskill 1gb drr400 x1 and kingston value ram 512mb x 1

HDD: 120gb ata Seagate harddrive

GPU: asus Nvidia en6800 512mb ddr2 AGP

The system runs fine until i attempt to install the drivers for the gphx card. I have windows completely updated, I have updated the SIS AGP GART driver from the PC Chips website, tried the latest non-beta drivers from nvidia, nothing seems to work.

What happens: when the drivers are installed they finish the installation correctly. The system boots fine, the windows XP loading screen comes up (the whole sliding blue bar thing). I sit there expecting the windows welcome screen to pop-up but instead 1/2inch thick yellow and/or blue distorted (torn) verticle lines appear alternating between yellow and blue for about 10-15 seconds.

The system hangs with a blank screen (but it still has backlight) and I have to dry reboot it, booting into safe mode and removing the drivers.

Any ideas? I would appreciate ANY advice.

More about : asus en6800 problems

March 11, 2006 6:34:07 AM

No offense, but what were you smoking when you designed this system? That has to be one of the worst builds ive ever seen. Anyways, it could be several things, what kind of monitor are you running it on? Sorry to be such an ass, I just think you could have done a lot better job on the build (s939,pci-e, definately not a 512 mb 6800 agp)