Heating: CPU STILL won't cool down.....

Sockman

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2006
Yeah, total newbie question, but I have just upgraded to a new system after a few years of being with an ancient 1.33 Thunderbird.

Anywho, my Athlon 64 3400+ (Socket 754) 2.4 Ghz. shows up in BIOS as running at anywhere between 46-49 (118+/- *F)degrees celcius. This is immediately after boot-up.

My question: Would this be considered the 'idle' temperature or 'under load'?

I want to play the next-gen games like BF2 and CS: Source, but I am concerned for the stability of my CPU.
Am I just worrying over nothing or is this temperature reading just too high?
Or is it the HS/fan's fault? It's a Thermaltake 'Silent 939' which is also 754 compatible, BTW.

psyno

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2003
That would be considered an idle temperature.

It's a little high... ideally the idle temperature should be within a few degrees of ambient case temperature, which in turn should be within a few degrees of room temperature, which on average is about 21 C, give or take.

It's not too hot to be stable, but the temperature under load may still be. You'll probably want to evaluate how the HSF has been applied. It sounds like there may be poor contact.

Sockman

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2006
It's a brand new fan, but it runs around 2,100+ RPMs, which seems a little low to me.

I opened the cae and it went down to 44 degrees C, but it's still annoying.

psyno

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2003
That's still at least 10 C higher than you'd expect for an idle temperature. Describe how you applied the HFS to the CPU. It may need to be redone.

Sockman

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2006
Not sure on what case it is, but I will check. It does have a side fan in the thing that I turned around to blow onto the HS fan. I figured that it wouldn't do any harm, since the fan sucks cool air into the CPU, right?