Sign in with
Your question

Please advise me on these component choices for new system.

Last response: in Systems
March 13, 2006 4:45:50 PM

First off, thanks for reading this.

I have a 4+ year old Gateway that I abhor greatly. Now to the point of action since I have been playing BF2 and it is just barely able to run it.

I have decided to build my own system after being raped by Gateway and Compaq in the past (never again!). This will be my first time custom building a system, but I am confident I can undertake this task.

I am a starving student so this is my attempt at a cost-effective gaming system. Please let me know if these components will work well together or if there are any better choices available. I do plan on OC'ing the system once it is complete (1st time OC'er also).

Opteron 165 - 325.00

DFI Ultra-D - 122.99

OCZ 2x1gb platinum - 199.99

7900gt - 315.00

Antec Truepower II - 89.99

Cooler Master Centurion 5 - 49.99

WD 250GB Caviar - 97.00

Total - $1200.00

The 7900gt is out of stock at the moment, but I have auto-notify on for it. Hopefully it won’t be for long.

Another thing is I only have $773.00 cash on hand (life savings). The rest will come in over the next 2-4 weeks. Which components should I order now, while buying the rest over the next 2-4 weeks? I need to go ahead and spend the $773.00 now or it will grow smaller the longer I wait. Also selling my paintball gear if anyone is interested.

EDIT: changed some components choices to reflect advice.
March 13, 2006 4:54:33 PM

Save your money by getting an Opteron 165 if you are going to OC. Cheaper, and means you'll be able to spend more elsewhere on the pc in order to get decent enough products that won't bottleneck with the CPU and GFX card performance. Apart from that, excellent choice in components.
March 13, 2006 5:14:37 PM