sherminator27

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2006
Hy! I'm having problems with my system that I've built:
ABIT AN8 Ultra
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 1.8Gh Venice
2x 512RAM OCZ Performance
Sapphire Radeon X800GT 256MB PCIE
The ABIT EQ monitoring software shows me the NB and OTES1 and OTES2 always on RED. Why is that? Is my chipset temp too high or what?
I should say I have my stock cooling on the CPU and no other system fan, and when I run games at high settings the CPU temp reaches 54C, and sometimes I get bad FPSs and the game shuts down. The sys temp reaches 44-46C.
I would very much need an advice on this issue. I am a novice, so I'm hoping that you wuold understand me. Thanks!!!

kemosabe79

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2006
Did you install AbitEQ off the disk that came with your motherboard? If so, go to the Abit website and download the latest version for your board.

Your CPU & System temps are a bit high...You have to get more fans if want lower temps. AbitEQ is probably relatively accurate. Your machine is shutting down because its overheating.

sleepdeprived82

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2005
They are red because there is no fan attached to them so it is not picking up a fan rpm. This means it thinks fans are not spinning so highlights it as red. As you dont have fans attached to the motherboard just go into abit EQ click setup then untick the boxes for the NB otes1 & 2 fans, problem solved. Those are purely for extra fan controll, I have mine all hooked up to fans apart from the NB fan as it uses the heatpipe so does not have one.

My sys temp is 36c so yours does seem higher and a bit too high. Maybe get some more fans if possible. Get ones with 3 pin connectons and fan sensors so you can hook them up to the motherboard and contro;; them with Uguru.

sherminator27

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2006
Thanks!