Converting One SATA drive with data to RAID0 w/o reformat?

MisfitSELF

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2006
Please forgive me as I'm a total noob when it comes to RAID (plus this is my first post ever on THG!)

First my applicable specs:
CPU: P4 2.8GHz Northwood (overclocked to 3.35MHz w/ Zalman fan, ok that wasn't applicable 8) )
MB: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Hard Drive 1: WD Parallel ATA-133 IDE drive ~70GB (with XP Pro)
Hard Drive 2: WD SATA-150 250GB (for games)

The motherboard has two SATA connections and supports RAID-0 on these.

I recently added the SATA-150 drive just to check out this new(er) technology. But now I'm interested in setting up a RAID-0 for Gaming by buying another 250GB SATA hard drive. My operating system and important files will remain on the drive 1 (the IDE). That leads me to my questions:

a.) Does it matter if I get a SATA-150 or one of those newer 3Gb/sec drives? Will my motherboard support those drives even if I don't get any extra performance (eg like running a ATA-133 drive on a board that supports only up to ATA-100)?

b.) Is it possible to covert an existing drive with data (games) to RAID-0 by adding another drive without losing the data on the first drive in the RAID? If so how?

c.) Is it better to set up the RAID through the motherboard bios or through Window's XP Pro?

Sorry if this has been discussed before but I couldn't find the all the answers to my questions in these forums or through Google searches.

MisfitSELF

blue68f100

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2005
You can not make the PATA drive into a raid 0 without wiping out your data.

You can add a second sata drive, and build a raid 0. You will need to use the BIOS config for the drives. Hardware raids are better than the software type. Again you will loose you data on the drives. RAID 0 spreds the data between 2 drives, so there is no way to preserve the data. Having another HD you could copy all of your files to it.