Intel P4 550 3.4 ghz Idles at 50 Degrees celcuis?

Locovin128

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2006
I have a intel P4 550 that idles around 50 celts and when i play some CS: Source it jumps to around 65 celts. Is this normal Temp? If it isn't what can i do? I have stock HS and fan. Do i need a Zalman or Thermaltake? Any help would be appreciated......

I'm not an Intel expert, but 65C seems dangerously hot. I wonder if your CPU is throttling to save itself from self-destruction. Intel processors run hot, but I suspect that you have either a thermal paste/heatsink/fan issue or a case ventilation issue.

Keep in mind the the processor is the hottest component in your computer. It transfers heat to a thermal compound which transfers to the heat sink and all of its fins, which is transferred to the air, and then (hopefully) away from the processor and out of the case.

Processor ---> Thermal compound ---> Heatsink ---> Air inside the case ---> Outside of the case

LithiumSunset

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2006
I wouldn't exactly call that normal but it's not that high either. It it's a socket 775, chances are, the hsf isn't seated right. I would check it to make sure it's firmly planted on the motherboard and seated tight against the processor.

Zalman makes an awesome air cooler. If you wanna go that route, I would suggest it. It would certainly help.

Grimmy

Splendid
Feb 20, 2006
I guess the other question is.. how long have you had the system?

If you just noticed this, your HSF may be dirty with dust bunnies that don't exactly help with cooling.

Most HSF that are stock that came with the CPU, usually does the job correctly. Only times you really need a 3rd party HSF is OC'ing.

I have a intel P4 550 that idles around 50 celts and when i play some CS: Source it jumps to around 65 celts. Is this normal Temp? If it isn't what can i do? I have stock HS and fan. Do i need a Zalman or Thermaltake? Any help would be appreciated......