Memory OCing... would like some opinions

Bluefinger

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2006
Right... this weekend i plan to spend on getting my pc's memory OC'ed a little so to bring up the performance up a little. At the moment, i have a paired set of Corsair XMS Dual Channel PC3200CL2PT 1GB modules running at the standard 3-4-4-8 2T timings set on the mobo, and i know it can run better, but before i do so, is there anything i need to know beforehand? I already have memtest, but is there any other software i require just to make sure i have stable settings? Its obvious i'm a little new to memory OCing, though i have OC'ed GPUs and CPUs before, but here's what i want to try and achieve:

1)Firstly get the memory to 1T and 2-3-3-6 mem timings.
2)Adjust the CL to allow the memory frequency to be increased.
3)Get it to run at a stable level (very important... I can't stress enough on this point )

So... any help? Links to appropriate guides and opinions appreciated.

ChipDeath

Splendid
May 16, 2002
Leave command rate on 1T. I recall reading an article somewhere that showed you needed a HUGE amount more speed to make up for 2T timings - something like with 2T you needed 230Mhz to perform the same as 200Mhz with 1T. Maybe not quite that much, but it was suprisingly large.

Aside from that.... There's probably not much point going to CL2 and immediately relaxing it so you can shoot for more mhz... why bother?

bront

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2001
I have the 512 modules of the same memory, you can check out my journal thread on overclocking. It has a few good articles in it linked, and I'm posting more as I find them.

Suposedly 1T vs 2T can result in as much as a 30% throughput increase in memory, but mostly for synthetic benchmarks. As far as how much it will effect games and such, that's more along the lines of 5-10%, So 216 should be about what you need to make up the difference in that timing, while the other timings can have 2-3% adjustments.