Votes: 1 5.0%
  • Trash it

Votes: 8 40.0%

• Total voters

unbiased4u

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
Hello guys, this is my first post here, so try and be nice :D

So I have this computer, *ahem* main computer, and I won't be upgrading it for a while (6 months???). It's OK, but I can't play a lot of recent games...
Here it is:
AMD Athlon XP 1800+ Palomino
256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR 266Mhz
15GB WD ATA66 Hard drive
20GB Maxtor ATA133? Hard drive
400w Powmax PS
Biostar M7VIG Pro Mobo
Nvidia GeForce 4 MX-4000 AGP @ 4x

Other useless stats to show how cheap I am :?
Foxconn Case
MS IntelliMouse Pro PS/2 Ball mouse
1995? Dell Beige KB
Altec Lansing 2.1 Black Speakers (except this :D)

So anyway, should I try overclocking? I've never tried it before...

Pain

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2004
It won't give you any performance increase to allow you to play todays games any better than you can now. You probably would get a good performance increase with a new video card that you can get for under 200 bucks.

You could also try to find a new cpu and some faster memory, but then you're just throwing good money after bad and should just save your bucks for a new platform, IMO.

unbiased4u

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
Ok, but will currnet AGP cards work on an AGP 4x slot? I mean, it won't run at full potential will it?

Maybe I'll upgrade RAM...

Thanks

Anoobis

Splendid
Feb 4, 2006
Dude...patience. 6 months is a drop in the bucket. If you don't upgrade in 6 months, then put money into this machine.

There is a lot of information about how and what to overclock. You've got 6 months, your equipment, and Google to play with it. My advice, don't take large steps when overclocking. Small increments, small increments.

unbiased4u

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
So a 6600GT may work? just not full potential? I think I'll just overclock modestly maybe 1533 -> 1600. Any useful tools I need? Anyone have a good guide?

I

Distinguished
May 23, 2004
Hmm, where to start...