Sign in with
Your question

Decided to build instead of buy, need some advice

Last response: in Systems
March 18, 2006 3:14:12 PM

I decided to build my new computer instead of buying it, and as I've never built a computer before, I need a little help. :D 

It's going to be used almost entirely for gaming, no overclocking.

Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail - My original choice was the Antec P180, out of the two, which would be better?

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Dual Core Processor - Retail - Will this last me a long time, or will I need to upgrade anytime soon in order to play games at reasonable settings?

XFX PV-T71G-UDE7 GeForce 7900 GT EXTREME (520MHz) 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail - Since I'm saving lots of money building instead of buying, I was going to go with the 7900GTX, but I thought it would be worth it to save some money for a card that supports Direct X10 when they're released.

ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce SPP 100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail - I'm probably not going to end up using SLI, but I thought the option is nice to have. Should I do away with it?

CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail - I don't know much about RAM, is there anything I should be aware of regarding these 2 sticks?

Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, TUV, CB, FCC CLASS B, CUL - Retail

Western Digital Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

ViewSonic VX922 Black/Silver 19" 2ms gray-to-gray (avg.); 2ms white-black-white (typ) LCD Monitor 270 cd/m2 650:1 0.294mm Pixel Pitch - Retail - Everyone everywhere seems to recommend it. It seems good, anything I should know about?