Your question

New mobo for Pentium 4 3.2GHz Prescott w/HT

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
March 18, 2006 10:59:58 PM

I've got a Dell Dimension 4700 with the above processor and the board and case are just way to limited. I'm wanting a board that I can later possibly put a dual core in, if that's possible. Presently though I need to at least move 4 of the USB's to the front along with sound jacks. Basically this item.. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681... , along with the 4 drive bays I need. Also I'ld like to be able to monitor CPU temp. I know I'm probably asking a lot but I really don't know if I am or not. Anyway I need some suggestions as I'm new to this. I sincerely appreciate any help.

Thanks
John Wagner

More about : mobo pentium 2ghz prescott

March 18, 2006 11:26:26 PM

LGA775. It looks like all the ASUS boards at least at Newegg are of the P5 series. I don't quite understand some of these differences in the boards. Like what's the SLI deal? Or the Nvidia nForce stuff..I mean I don't need on board video if that's what that means. I need a little knowledge on these types of things.
March 18, 2006 11:48:11 PM

There are a multitude of good boards for LGA775 processors. This socket type supports PCI-E cards as well. Do you plan to overclock? And what size is that case, I knew someone with a 4600 from dell and they had a micorATX board. Will you need the same?
Related resources
March 18, 2006 11:53:21 PM

My video card is a PCI-E and the board is a full size atx. i have been thinking about trying some overclocking but I want to get the system down pat like I want it first then I'll delve into that dark world but that is also why I was looking at possibilities of putting in a dual core at a later date. Check out the initial question as I did a little editing to it before I posted this.
March 19, 2006 11:29:45 AM