Sign in with
Your question

NIC to NIC crossover question

Last response: in Networking
June 3, 2003 1:46:54 PM

I've never done any networking before, but thought it would easier than this.

I'm trying to network my XP machine to my son's ME machine. I have a P4P800 deluxe mobo in the XP and a Linksys 10/100 in the ME machine. Connecting the two is a crossover cable. I ran the XP networking wizard on XP, then was prompted to run the XP wizard on the ME machine. After getting through one or two steps, the wizard crashes on the ME machine. I then decided to set it up manually and created a TCP/IP connection for the NIC card, allowed print and file sharing, assigned a unique IP address on both the ME and XP machine. I rebooted both machines and still don't see either PC in the network window. In fact, when I try to open the Entire Network link on the ME machine it gives me an error message and tells me I can't access the network. The trouble shooter is no help. If I look at the network status on each machine it always says "connecting". When I ping each machine it appears to work. I'm obviously missing somethng here. Can anybody PLEASE help me? I've been fooling with this darn thing for days!

Rod
June 3, 2003 5:50:17 PM

ive stopped trouble shooting windows me. i just treat it like a virus and get rid of it.

<font color=red> black </font color=red> <font color=green> white </font color=green> <font color=blue> yellow </font color=blue> <font color=orange> purple </font color=orange> <font color=black> red </font color=black> <font color=yellow> green </font color=yellow> <font color=purple> blue </font color=purple>
June 4, 2003 2:26:40 PM