Antivirus for windows 7

i am new to windows 7 from mac. and i need some good software for security. i did a trial of nod32 which was great and worked good in the background, but if i dont have to pay for the security i would prefer not to. is the free version of avg a good product? also is there any security software that is recommended?
thanks for the replies

i am using windows 7 64bit
i7-870
4gb corsair dominator
sapphire 4870 1gb
60gb vertex 2 ssd
1tb samsung spinpoint
650 watt ultra power supply
answers
Last reply
More about antivirus windows
  1. A lot of people typically run a free version of AVG or Avast in combination with MalwareBytes as a secondary, manual scanner. You'll have to wait for opinions on that setup, as I myself have a free subscription to Norton through my ISP, but I do have MalwareBytes installed just in case something would get past that needed more extensive scanning and removal.
  2. Stay away from AVG, the free version has been shown to lock systems for the last few months. As much as the rebel in me hates to say it, Microsoft Security Essentials is a solid freeware choice.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/AVG_AntiVirus_Free_Edition_d886.html
  3. thanks for the replies.

would i only need microsoft security essentials? i mean as my only software?

also does the malwarebytes slow down the computer at all, i dont want anything taking up alot of resources
  4. I have used the free version of Avira for years with no problems. Microsoft Security Essentials is also a solid choice as is Avast.
  5. npowers86 said:
    thanks for the replies.

would i only need microsoft security essentials? i mean as my only software?

also does the malwarebytes slow down the computer at all, i dont want anything taking up alot of resources

Malwarebytes is a scanner only. Just run it once a month.
  6. what would be the benefits then of a paid antivirus over microsoft security essentials?
  7. An 800 number for support