Anyone have any input/opinions ?

Tyan K8WE (S2895UA2NRF) System board
2 AMD Opteron 285 CPU's
2 7900 GTX Dual GPU Vid Cards SLI
8 2GB Sticks
8 Seagate 146GB Cheetah 15K.4 Drives
In Raid 0 array

Thats 4 CPU cores, 4 GPU cores, 16GB ram,
and 1.1TB of the fastest disk access avaliable.
Is there anything faster out there?[/b]
March 23, 2006 5:00:37 AM

Is there a motherboard that can support 8 2GB sticks? I am new to this, so don't flame me if this is possible. I have just never seen such a thing.
March 23, 2006 5:07:14 AM

Yea, most dual socket 940 bouards support 8 dimms, and 16 gig max.
Personally, I dont see the point. Better to go with lower latency and timing. at a higher mem bus.
Only because with 16 gigs, you would be lucky to get T2 @ 333DDR speed, and something like 4,4,4, 10 timings.
Related resources
March 23, 2006 8:24:05 AM

You need Registered ECC memory for that board (Like I would know 8) ).

Registered RAM adds 1 transparent CAS tick, however even in games this doesn't affect performance much, as the 2 x dual-channel memory controllers can aggregate performance. (Expect 10 GB/sec or so in SANDRA Memory Benchmark).

Using *ChipKill (tm)ECC (*128x4) will improve stability 100's of fold over regular ECC (64x8) DIMMs aswell.

Registered ECC/ChipKill (128x4) PC3200 2 GB DIMMs are quite costly, if they are even available on the mass market yet. 8 GB (total) would be far easier to get, as going 2 GB (per DIMM) might require a drop to PC2700 (333) or PC2100 (266) just from the DRAMs density alone.

However DRAMs made using 90-80nm should be on the market, so perhaps times have improved in the Registered ECC* 2 GB capacity market since I built my system.

Also, Bear in mind the onboard SCSI and onboard SATA RAID arrays can not be merged together, nor can arrays span both controllers.

http://users.on.net/~darkpeace/hardware/Opteron270.html - System Builders notes at the bottom may still apply today, although less so.