Am I wasting money?

achoo

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2006
This would be my first time building a system by myself. I'm not looking to overclock, as I have little experience and don't want to fry my system. I would probably consider it as the PC gets older though. I'll mainly be using this rig for games.

I've done more than 60 hours worth of research into this system, but I'm still worried about my choice of RAM. For what I'll be doing (gaming, but not overclocking or otherwise pushing limits), am I wasting money by choosing the memory I chose? I value and am willing to pay for high performance, but I don't want to pay for overclockability that I will not likely use.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
Motherboard: Asus A8R32-MVP
Video Card: ATI Radeon X1900XT
Memory: OCZ EL DDR PC-3200 Gold GX XTC Dual Channel (2GB Kit)
Hard Drive: WD Raptor WD1500ADFD (150GB Raptor w/o clear cover)
Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Optical Drive: Plextor PX-760A
Optical Drive 2: Generic 16X DVD ROM
Case: Antec P150 (430W PSU included)

Thank you in advance for all your comments!

Mike
Quebec, Canada

YJ2k2

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2006
If you're not looking to overclock the OCZ Premier series is a great option. Don't bother getting the Gold series if you're not going to o/c.

sojrner

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2006
ocz is a good company, I prefer corsair over them... crucial is also good.

yes, i think if oc'ing is not in your immediat future then it is a bit overkill. Try their value line (not sure what it is called) or corsair's "value series". You usually lose the fancy heatspreaders and sometimes a tic on the timings but for what you have it is plenty.

Of course, if you have the $ then it does give you some overhead for later when you DO start to clock it...

if you have the $, spend it... if you are tight then drop to the value option and enjoy what you get.

btw, good system choice!

RichPLS

Champion