Sign in with
Your question

Dual Monitors

Last response: in Systems
March 24, 2006 3:50:49 AM

I was building a new computer and I have two monitors so I was wondering how do you set up a two monitor system. I am a noob
Do you need two keyboard and mouse?
How does it work lol?

More about : dual monitors

March 24, 2006 4:23:10 AM

If you don't know how a dual monitor setup works, you shouldn't even be building your own computer...

Seriously, that's scary.
March 24, 2006 5:25:26 AM

I almost have to agree with doublehelix, do you have a vid card with two outputs, either dvi or vga? If so plug them both in and enable the second in the driver, both nvidia and ati have wizards that pretty much do it for you. If you want to add another pci video card you have to make sure it supports being a secondary display then do the same thing.
Related resources
March 24, 2006 11:55:12 AM

What kind of video card are you using?
March 24, 2006 12:05:32 PM

Yeah, it depends on what kind of video card you are using. My 7800GT can do dual monitor display but that about it and I don't see the point of it since I use my system for gaming. Why do you need a dual monitor display anyways?
March 24, 2006 12:34:31 PM

It can also depend on the MB that you're using. If it has build in graphics (and a VGA port) and if you have a graphics card as well, then you can also use the 2 monitors.
March 24, 2006 1:07:53 PM

Quote:
Yeah, it depends on what kind of video card you are using. My 7800GT can do dual monitor display but that about it and I don't see the point of it since I use my system for gaming. Why do you need a dual monitor display anyways?