Sign in with
Your question

Dual XEON's vs. Pentium-D

Last response: in CPUs
March 24, 2006 4:41:58 PM

OK,

First I want to say that I have about 1 day to make a decision. I am a CAD Manager and we use Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire 2.0 3D Software. For those who are not familiar with it. It's one of the most powerful 3D applications in the market.

Here is my situation. I have to choose Dell for our company because that's what our company decided on sticking with. We are a Dell house.

So no AMD comparisons please. AMD is faster but I can't choose it at this time. I am about to order 15 CAD Workstations.

I need to know if I should go with the latest Dual XEON's, or the Pentium D processor.

Here is the specifications of what I am thinking of getting.

Dell Precision 670
Dual 3.0 GHz, XEON Processor w/ 2MB L2 Cache, 800 FSB
nVidia Quadro FX 1400, 128MB Dual VGA or DVI
2GB, DDR2 ECC SDRAM Memory, 400MHz, 2X1GB

I am getting 15 of them at once. The title of this thread is what I am seeking here. Is the new Dual XEON's with PCI-Express, DDR2 and 800FSB better than a Pentium D @ 3.0 GHz.

Once I get feedback from you guys on this. I will order them.

It's not my money, so I don't care about price and it's not my choice to go with Intel or AMD. I must go with Dell and Intel at this point. Does anyone know if the extra money for the Dual XEON's will be worth it or is the Pentium D good enough.

We do high end 3D modeling, surfacing, assemblies and animation. We also run Stress Analysis on our 3D models and use 3D Laser Scanning technology to scan a product and bring in Polygon models with Millions of Triangles that we Reverse Engineer into 3D Solid Models.

Thanks for any advice. I will be stuck with my choice for about 3 years.

-Proximo

More about : dual xeon pentium

March 24, 2006 5:08:46 PM