Athlon XP 3200 running at 67 degrees - is this normal?

LordLovatt

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2006
Hi I'm new to this message board, although I do often read the main site. Anyway, I have an Athlon XP 3200 400FSB with stock HSF that is showing up in the BIOS as running at about 67 degrees centigrade. I would imagine this is a little on the high side, especially as I'm not doing anything particularly intensive. What do you guys think? Also, I know it's getting on a little bit now but would it still be considered a half decent CPU?

kmjohnso

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2006
Yup definetly too hot. I had the same problem awhile ago, but it was just dust clogging up the airflow. I took out the HSF cleaned it all up (both sides), and reapplied thermal paste. It dropped the temp from 63 to 43, with I am much happier with it.

Anoobis

Splendid
Feb 4, 2006
Does the fan work??

I would definately make sure you have it on correctly. The clip that holds the heatsink onto the socket MUST be put on correctly. When you remove the clip, you'll notice that bend in it is not centered, rather it is offset. Make sure that when you put the clip back on, the lowest part of the bent portion is directly over the CPU die. This places the pressure directly onto the CPU die for optimal contact.

I would also recommend using a quality thermal paste like Arctic Silver 5.

turpit

Splendid
Feb 12, 2006
Yup definetly too hot. I had the same problem awhile ago, but it was just dust clogging up the airflow. I took out the HSF cleaned it all up (both sides), and reapplied thermal paste. It dropped the temp from 63 to 43, with I am much happier with it.

Concur. 67 is too hot. 43-54 under load, with a decent flowing case and stock HSF combo should be the norm, assuming the room its in is 74F-80F. As kmjohnso stated, check the heatsink for dust clogging. The 3200 runs so hot under load that if your HS was improperly seated, or the thermal paste insufficient, the chip would have already popped

LordLovatt