Raid 0 setup

htoon

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
Hello

I have two identical sata 2 drives in raid 0 setup. It is shown in post test. My system utility also confirms that i have raid 0 setup.

I want to know if my raid 0 setup is working or not. When i save my files, they are not saved on two hard drives. They are saved only on one drive. Is it normal? I am new to raid setup and i would appreciate you all for your comments.

Thank.

MadModMike

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2006
Hello

I have two identical sata 2 drives in raid 0 setup. It is shown in post test. My system utility also confirms that i have raid 0 setup.

I want to know if my raid 0 setup is working or not. When i save my files, they are not saved on two hard drives. They are saved only on one drive. Is it normal? I am new to raid setup and i would appreciate you all for your comments.

Thank.

Uhm...hmm....did you make sure to format the RAID under Windows after you created it?

~~Mad Mod Mike, pimpin' the world 1 rig at a time

htoon

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
Thank you for your reply. I am sorry that i do not get what you mean by "format the RAID under Windows after you created it"

I am not using software raid. I have a built-in raid controller. I have no idea whether my raid setup is working or not.

Do you have any thoughts.

Thanks

MadModMike

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2006
Thank you for your reply. I am sorry that i do not get what you mean by "format the RAID under Windows after you created it"

I am not using software raid. I have a built-in raid controller. I have no idea whether my raid setup is working or not.

Do you have any thoughts.

Thanks

You still have to format the RAID. Go into Disk Management (Right-Click "My Computer", go to "Manage", click "Disk Management", Right-Click the RAID (it will appear as one big drive) than click "Format"). After that, the RAID should be available.

PS: You have to format RAID's regardless of if they are Software or Hardware.

htoon

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006