A half-custom build

Chil

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2006
My brother wants a new computer for his birthday, but he only wants a budget one that will play games pretty much. He'll probably get another new one when he goes to college later. Since I have limited experience with building, and my parents don't want me to mess with building one myself, they want me to find a pre-built computer that fits a budget.

I checked a few online stores, and skipped Dell altogether. Most places like HP or Gateway look halfway decent pricewise, but they always want huge shipping charges and nothing in the budget comes with a graphics card.

Then I looked at NewEgg and found the ABS Awesome V2. It looks to have everything a budget builder needs. The only things to add are a graphics card and more memory, as we already have a keyboard, mouse, and monitor.

To complete the rig, I've looked to put in an X850XT and another 512 MB memory stick (because it starts with a single 512 stick from Kingston). The build looks complete, and all I need to do is stick in the separate parts and download video drivers! Perhaps the best part is that the whole thing comes out at $784.94 including shipping.

Of course, I want opinions on going this way. Does anyone think that the video card, which seems to take up two PCI Express slots, will not fit the micro-ATX mobo (seen here)? How do you think of the plan as a whole? Is there a chance the comp will come DOA?

shadowduck

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2006
My brother wants a new computer for his birthday, but he only wants a budget one that will play games pretty much. He'll probably get another new one when he goes to college later. Since I have limited experience with building, and my parents don't want me to mess with building one myself, they want me to find a pre-built computer that fits a budget.