Video Card or Monitor problem??

DavidBoBavid

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2006
Hi,

I have a question regarding my video card or my monitor.. I had a weird problem last night, and now I don't see anything on my screen when using my DVI cable. It's kind of a long post, but I'm a newb here so bare with me. :)

So first my machine:
P4 2.4Ghz
2gigs DDR ram
Asus VT99999999 (6800GT)
Gateway FPD2185W (21" widescreen monitor)

So I've been playing Oblivion with the res set down to 1280x1024 in order to spare some of the stress on my computer/card ,and I have my nvidia drivers set to centre the smaller rez on the screen, so there are some black bars on the sides, rather than stretch it to fit the full screen.

Last night, I went to play, and when I startd the game, and the initial options menu came up (the one with the play/ load data file buttons) I heard the sound windows makes when you connect a USB device. Seeing how I didn't connect anything, I just hit play and ignored it. When the game screen came up, with the Continue/Load menu, it was stretched to the full screen, rather than being centered (as I have been playing it like that since I got it last Tuesday). SoI figured something was screwy with the nvidia driver ,and maybe the option for scaling was switched for some reason.

When I leave the game, my desktop resoultion was messed up, and I figured it was possibly due to the game not exiting properly or something like that. So I go to the desktop properties to change the rez, and the options for my screen rez (1680x1050) aren't there, but there are other weird ones like 1600x1200. And then I hear that usb sound again, and then my screen turns itself off.

So I rebooted, thinking it was still a problem with the game or something. When the computer started up again, the screen went on for a moment, then turned itself off, like it would if the computer was still off.