Sign in with
Your question

nOOb - Home Theater PC 1st Build under $500

Last response: in Systems
April 3, 2006 10:51:30 PM

I would like some help building a htpc - I've never built one before, but I have built about 6-7 regular PCs. I already have a case, power supply and an old 40 GB Hard Drive. I also have Windows XP Pro and a Windows Media Center Edition. I need everything else and would like to get it under $500. It would not be used for gaming, but just for looking at pics, watching movies, playing music, etc.... I need a Processor, Mobo, DVD Drive, and some kind of vid card and a sound card. I'm thinking about a Athlon 64 3000+, but maybe a Sempron? I don't know what performance I need for a HTPC.
April 4, 2006 12:46:07 AM

Hi, you can do this two ways.

1) In my opinion, Media Center PCs are best bought off the shelf (like this one). Why? Because there is too much stuff you need to bother with that is not in standard PCs, like TV tuner cables and DVI.

2) If you do want to build your own, then check out this article on ExtremeTech.com.
April 4, 2006 2:24:20 AM

Quote:
Hi, you can do this two ways.

1) In my opinion, Media Center PCs are best bought off the shelf (like this one). Why? Because there is too much stuff you need to bother with that is not in standard PCs, like TV tuner cables and DVI.

2) If you do want to build your own, then check out this article on ExtremeTech.com.

While I do agree with your point in #1, NEVER EVER EVER EVER buy a Sony desktop PC. You are just asking to get taken advantage of, and asking for serious problems. They are really POS. What I would do is configure a Dell tthe way you want it, then build it from Newegg.
Related resources
April 4, 2006 4:33:46 AM