Sign in with
Your question

MSI K8T Master-2 FAR (MS 9130) Unable to detect all 4GB RAM?

Last response: in Motherboards
April 6, 2006 8:49:58 PM

If anyone has any idea why this is happening or what (if any) settings in the BIOS I can change for the MotherBoard to detect all 4 Gigs of RAM, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Basically I have a MSI K8T Master-2 FAR (MS 9130)
Flash w/ latest BIOS available on the MSI Site
Two Opteron 250 CPU's installed
and four modules of PC2700 ECC Crucial 1 GIG RAM. All identical model/part numbers. I've verified that each module of RAM is functioning properly alone or in a pair of 2...but when all 4 modules are in, the BIOS only can see about 3.5 GB of RAM

When I boot up the BIOS only recognizes a total of (3668992K) of RAM. I have Windows XP x64 and it only recognizes 3.5 Gigs of RAM. I know Win XP x64 should be capable of "seeing" all 4 gigs. I've used utilities like CPU-Z and it only identifies 3.5 Gigs of RAM as well.

Does anyone (with this board or farmiliar with this board) have any idea why this is happening and how I can resolve the issue. I'd greatly appreciate any help :) 
May 3, 2006 9:50:36 PM

I have the same board, with BIOS v1.2. I have 4 1GB Crucial DIMMs installed also...PC2100...I have the exact same problem with Linux/Xen. It does look like a BIOS issue. I would love to find a workaround.
May 15, 2006 9:03:35 PM