64 vs 32-bit == end users measures the perceived performance

vhawk

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2006
Looking at all the 64-bit vs 32-bit slug-fests I could only smile. I'm a programmer / engineer - I am a AMD fan ( just because they are opposition to Intel - sorry Americans ) and I have in my life used a good mix of both.

Currently I run a X2 3800+ as server at home and develop on Compaq nx9010 notebook (Hopefully my new nx6125 (Turion 64 rules) notebook arrives today - then it will be bye bye to the slow brick sized nx9010).

But back to my topic. In the end the only thing the end user see is the perceived performance of his or her PC / Notebook / what ever. This basically depends on the IO performance of the system. And with IO I mean disk IO (for databases, dev tools, office tools etc) and memory IO for the gamers - they nail the CPUs to close to 100% so to them 32 or 64 bit may be of importance.

And yes, Conroe is going to kick AMD ass it seems. So good for you Intel !

I'll be waiting for AMD to leapfrog that again as both my new AMD based tools will be good for two more years. And no I'm not going to use Vista - had the betas on my system and I rate Vista's improvement as eye candy at the expense of usability and performance.

Remember - all CPUs wait at exactly the same speed. If you cannot keep them busy, they do nothing. My Server system at home has a RAID 50 SATA disk system is perceivably VERY FAST ( With both cores doing nothing 80% of the time - so at the system can provide them with work 20% of the time ).

This notebook ( the nx9010 brick ) has a 5400 rpm Notebook HDD and is perceived as being HORRIBLY SLOW with the CPU being idle 98% of the time and the HDD being buy all the time.

So to me the underlying CPU architecture is of no concern to me Disk IO is the biggest pain the the back. As long as I do not have to look at an hour glass I'm happy - make that in any 32 or 64 bit way