Is this a bad idea?

Applicator

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2006
Hiya,
I'm an electrical engineer in power systems that works for a distribution company in Australia.

The danger is too much current not over voltage (in fact your volts will actually drop with the increased current supplied). Power (read heat) is related to the square of the current. The more heat you have the more likely to damage the wiring in your house, so that's why you will have a service fuse which should blow at a current less than the rating of your wiring. So as long as there isn't too much current being supplied through the one wall socket there really isn't a problem.

In my house I have a two 4 board supplies connected in series because I have lots of plugs that supply little things like a camera charger, mouse charger, mp3 charger, modem etc. If you are supplying multiple computers or TVs, speakers etc I would think that's a bad idea and should be avoided.

Hope this helps.

Applicator

pengwin

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2006
yah im not gonna argue with mr. ee up there

for those of u who didnt kno EE = Electrical engineering, my bro is gonna be an ee, i get his stupid IEEEEEEE..E? magazines

clue69less

Splendid
Mar 2, 2006
Creating a Y type connector plugging two power supplys into one? or would that result in an over voltage?

If you're thinking of getting more juice for your PC, just use one PS for the mobo and the other for the peripherals. I saw a thread about this somewhere with some specifics but I'm not sure where that was...

RichPLS

Champion
If you use heavy grade wire and solid connections you should not have any trouble running two 550 watt PSU's off of one power cord.

Most modern wiring systems in residences will support the load.

Czarles

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2005