Live Memory Test: Overclock 'Em Till They Crash

pschmid

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2005
In our latest test, we gradually push memory modules to their limits, and test their boundaries. This time, we do it live and on two systems simultaneously. We also pit special test modules against ones we purchased to find out the truth. Are the manufacturers cheating? And who's really got the fastest modules?

I feel only one test system should be used. What if the motherboard or OMC manufacturing quality issues affect RAM performance. I'm not an expert though...

However, the results should be accurate enough to see if these vendors are giving THG the creme of the crop or the real stuff that we'll end up buying.

bluntside

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
I'm curious about my mobo, its a Dfi Lan PAry Nf4 ut sli-dr eXpert. The Dfi mobos i know hav e great features and lots of oc'ing potential not to mention its very stable. But what so great about this particular mobo?? :twisted:

sojrner

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2006
I am much more curious as to why the top two performers in the last memory tests are not represented here? The article says they went w/ what was widely available, but I know that corsair and patriot are at least as distributed as the five used in the test... just seems odd to me, as does the use of different procs. I know they are similar, but why not just use the same one? they stress that everything else is identical.

techCoord makes a good point too: why not just use the same system and eliminate all differences?

These are all quibbles on my part though, and the test is still a good reference for memory hunters. Just if you are going to point out how hard you are working to get total parity for the two test setups, then actually GET total parity... dont fudge it in some spots and hope no-one notices.

dorion

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2005