from Overclocked to underclocked.

the_pulp

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2006
i recently overclock my xfx 6600gt 256 mb card for the fourth time and it is giving very bad performance.even older games encounter low fps.how do i solve it.i tried everything,reinstalled windows 2 times and remove all OC software and running it at stock speed,ut the problem persists.

Dahak

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
Try flashing the bios on the card,that may fix the problem.xfx should have the flash.Otherwise do what I did and just go out and buy a 7800gt.You will be impressed.

TabrisDarkPeace

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2006
You are running a __600 series card.

Solution: Deal with it ?

I'd suggest lowering detail to Low / Medium, even in older games.

Disable FSAA.

Run Medium detail textures, Set MipMaps to 3/4 quality

Run at 1024 x 768 (apx)

mesarectifier

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
You can't expect a 6600 to still be 'uber'. If you OC'd it, you could have damaged the card? I'm no expert on overclocking but if you've reinstalled windows.....it's a hardware problem.

the_pulp

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2006
no.i have the latest driver's(84.30).is there any way to fix it.games gives poor performance at high settings,while earlier they run smoothly.does it mean's that my card is over. :( :( .helppppppppppppp!

gomerpile

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2005
Like suggested before flash the bios with and editor sounds like the core volts has been turn to 1.3 when you get the editor change the lowering volts to 1.5 all of them and turn of the heat protection.

Platform/chipset drivers are important, that's true - almost as important in graphics than GPU drvers are.

While not top dogs anymore, 6x00 series card are far from being outdated: I play all my games in 1280*1024 (native LCD screen resolution), and I tried a bunch of demos on them. Apart from disabled FSAA (at those resolutions I consider it pretty much useless ), it goes pretty well.