Sign in with
Your question

Laptop processors.

Last response: in CPUs
April 13, 2006 4:58:34 PM

Im buyin a laptop and im having a hard time deciding whether or not to wait a while for newer processors to be used. Im lookin at an IBM with the core duo and was wandering if theres any chance they would start using the new amds or the conroe in it. Im not a computer expert but last time I built a computer, pci express and ddr2 came out like a week after i built mine. The one in it is the 2ghz core duo. Is it worth the wait for something soon to come??

More about : laptop processors

April 13, 2006 5:01:08 PM

If you want it, get it now.
April 13, 2006 5:03:00 PM

Well I dont need it for about a month so its not real important to get it now but would there a substantial increase in performance thats worth waiting for you think? All I will be doing is CAD programs.
Related resources
April 13, 2006 5:08:11 PM

Quote:
Well I dont need it for about a month so its not real important to get it now but would there a substantial increase in performance thats worth waiting for you think? All I will be doing is CAD programs.
CAD hmmm? Well go ahead and get it, if you keep waiting for the next big thing, you'll wait forever. You know what to look for in a PC for CAD?
April 13, 2006 5:24:58 PM

Well it has to be a laptop since im gonna be moving around a lot and I dont exactly know what to get in terms of hardware. I just look at recommended settings and asked a few people. Im leaning towards the IBM T60p with 2ghz core duo, 3gb of ram maybe 2, and ati 256mb firegl. I think its called the v5200. On my 2yr old desktop it runs well for small to large assemblies so im thinking this would work fine for what im doing. I play games from time to time but I dont want to get a comp for that.
April 13, 2006 5:48:59 PM

What's to wait for? Tons of RAM, a pretty uber CPU and a workstation GPU! Go ahead!
April 13, 2006 5:50:31 PM