Sign in with
Your question

What Ram, does brand matter?

Last response: in Memory
April 13, 2006 7:22:02 PM

I am looking to build a computer and I am scoping out what to get. I plan on building a AMD SLI rig with 2-4 gigs of ram. The MB that I have been looking at is the ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe.

I am looking for 1g sticks of ram. I am new to the ram purchasing arena so I am not sure what to look for or what to avoid.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thx.

More about : ram brand matter

April 13, 2006 10:45:10 PM

Quote:
I am looking to build a computer and I am scoping out what to get. I plan on building a AMD SLI rig with 2-4 gigs of ram. The MB that I have been looking at is the ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe.

I am looking for 1g sticks of ram. I am new to the ram purchasing arena so I am not sure what to look for or what to avoid.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thx.

ASUS Sux0rz, get a DFI LanParty or Abit mobo, grab 2 1GB sticks of PC3200 from Crucial Ballistix, Corsair XMS, or some OCZ Gold (Don't get a combination of the 3). Stick with 2GB of RAM, or else you'll run into errors with PAE in x86 windows ( You CAN run 4GB in x86, but it can be a B to work).

~~Mad Mod Mike, pimpin' the world 1 rig at a time
April 13, 2006 11:27:13 PM

I agree with MadModMike. 2Gb will be plenty and 4Gb I know from experience CAN be difficult to get to work. I've never had any luck with Asus, I would try a different MB and have heard good things about DFI as well.

I personally went with Patriot 2Gb kit of low latency RAM and haven't been let down yet.
Related resources
April 16, 2006 4:07:17 AM

Do you plan to overclock at all? If so, how much do you want to overclock?
April 16, 2006 5:56:40 AM