AMD x2 3800+ for gaming?

I'm pretty new to building computer's and i was wondering if the AMD x2 3800+ was an ideal cpu for a computer centered around gaming and budgeting. My price range for a cpu is around $300. Any input would be helpful.

HOw would the
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego compare to the amd x2 3200+?

And how much of a performance increase can i expect with the x2 3200+ compared to my current system.... (pre-manufactured): amd 3200+ xp barton.

Thanks again.
12 answers Last reply
More about 3800 gaming
  1. Quote:
    I'm pretty new to building computer's and i was wondering if the AMD x2 3800+ was an ideal cpu for a computer centered around gaming and budgeting. My price range for a cpu is around $300. Any input would be helpful. Thanks
    That processor will serve you well.
  2. Yes, it would do very well for what you want to do.
  3. Yes it will do very well indeed.Excpecialy if you want to OC it :)
  4. It will be super great in the future when games are optimized for dual core.
  5. Added comparision.
  6. Added another question.
  7. Quote:
    and games will start requiring a dual core.

They will? So you won't be able to use a single core AT ALL? Will regular apps like MS Office require a dual core? When will this all happen? I'm hoping that I don't regret buying an A64 3700+ Sandy.
  8. Quote:

They will? So you won't be able to use a single core AT ALL? Will regular apps like MS Office require a dual core? When will this all happen? I'm hoping that I don't regret buying an A64 3700+ Sandy.

Office is already multithreaded but those type of applications don't gain anything from the multithreading of their code base.
  9. Quote:
    It will be super great in the future when games are optimized for dual core.

That or the "reverse hyperthreading" stuff xD
  10. Quote:
    It will be super great in the future when games are optimized for dual core.

That or the "reverse hyperthreading" stuff xD

That's pretty awesome, as well.