Apr 6, 2006
This is my first build.

Mobo: A8N-SLI Premium
CPU: Athlon 64 X2 4400+
RAM: OCZ PC4000 Gold
Video: BFG 7900GT
PSU: Titan 550W
Display: Dell 2001FP

I've got everything installed, but I'm having problems when I power on. The machine starts, fans are running, power LEDs are lit, but I get no beeps, no POST messages, and nothing on my display.

I don't even know where to start, as I don't know what a normal POST should look like.

Help, please!

02david

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2006
Have you checked the moniter is plugged in and it's in the right socket. I remember when I first turned my PC on. I put the connector thing in the wrong socket and nothing came up on the screen. The PC was on but nothing came up. I swithched the cables and the problem was sorted.

gordyhulten

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2006
Have you checked the moniter is plugged in and it's in the right socket. I remember when I first turned my PC on. I put the connector thing in the wrong socket and nothing came up on the screen. The PC was on but nothing came up. I swithched the cables and the problem was sorted.

Monitor was in the right socket. I didn't have power plugged into the EZ_PLUG socket.

Vascular

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2006
Couple of tips:
1- Make sure cpu is seated correctly. (just because the cooler is not falling off does not mean it is seated correctly)

2- Check your ram pull one out and swap till you know it not them.

3- Make sure you cpu 4 pin power connector is connected next to the cpu.

4- Make sure you dont have any extra brass stand offs incorrectly places or missing.

5- Make sure your video card is in the top pci-e slot.

6- Running sata are you using the power sata quick connector or molex 4 pin.

7- If you are running sata plug into sata1.

8- cd and dvd drives should be plugged into correct ide channel(ie NOT the blue one).

9- Make sure your power supply is set for 110v and NOT 220v.

gordyhulten

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2006