CookEMonster

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2006
:?:
Is there a way to know which way to plug in the HDD LED, the reset SW LED, the power switch connector, etc. every time (white goes to #1 pin, green to #4 . . .)?

Does it matter?

I've built a number of systems, and either got it right by accident, or those boards were marked better.

I'm replacing a fried mobo with a K8T Neo-V. Manual could be better.

Dahak

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
yes there is a rule of thumb.look at the wires.each plug should have two wires each.on all the plugs,one wire is the same color,this is the negative.the colored one is positive.now on the block,if you look closely,you should be able to see a plus(+)sign.a plus means a color lead so just read where you need to plug in at and make sure you got the colors right where they need to be.very easy.have fun.

Dahak

ps.on most cases the common ground is white.

CookEMonster

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2006
Thanx Dahak. I'm a nuclear plumber, not a wirehead. I figured it might be that simple.

I suppose that with a connector with one red, one black - the black wire is the common?

Flakes

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
doesnt help ive always just guesed, ive only ever had one problem when a incorrect wire went on fire when i plugged in the pc, ive been more careful eversince lol.

CookEMonster

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2006
It was an Athlon 1800+ upgraded from something else 2 - 3 years ago (I've been stringing the same pieces parts along for a long time now) running WinXP, with two cheapy raid1 drives.

I was quite the geek years ago, but couldn't keep up with the technology and lost some interest in it. Just a hobby, anyway.

Now it is gonna be an Athlon64 3000+. I just found out that it only supports raid1 with SATA drives. My drives aren't SATA, so I'm not sure what I'm going to do. I want my raid back, but I need to get this POS back quickly so my wife can do her homework :roll:

ara

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2005