DFI Experts, critique my future gaming rig if you DARE!

Curious1

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2005
Seriously, any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated. Please be gentle, this is my first time. :wink:

MB: DFI LANParty Venus nF4 SLI-DR Expert
CPU: AMD Opteron 165 @ 1.8GHz stock
RAM: Corsair XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR 400 (PC 3200) 2-3-3-6 @ 2.75V
GPU: eVGA Geforce 7900GT 256MB 550MHz / 1580MHz
SC: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
HD1: Western Digital Raptor 150GB
HD2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 400GB SATA 3.0Gb/s
DVD-RW: Plextor PX-716AL/SW
PSU: PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 510 ASL
CASE: Koolance PC3-724BK, Lian Li Black Case w/Exos-2 integrated water cooling

mfurse

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2005
I'll be gentle - looks like a good rig, if it were me (bare in mind I don't know your budget here!) I would make the following changes if you intend on overclocking:

MB: DFI LANParty nF4 SLI-DR Expert - don't bother with the Venus, limited edition, good luck finding one!
CPU: AMD Opteron 165 @ 1.8GHz stock - Slow as a stock CPU, loads of potential overclocked. I would get a 170 for the 10x multiplier that way you don't have to struggle achieving 2.6Ghz+ overclocks with a skyhigh HT speed (normally people aim for 300HTT but its not easy)
RAM: Corsair XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR 400 (PC 3200) 2-3-3-6 @ 2.75V - Think about higher speed but looser timings memory so you could run the memory at 1:1 with the HT speed, loads of bandwidth! OCZ or GSkill do some nice 2GB kits for reasonable money, the bigger timings are more than offset by the fact it can be run at 275Mhz+!
GPU: eVGA Geforce 7900GT 256MB 550MHz / 1580MHz - no problems here
SC: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - cool
HD1: Western Digital Raptor 150GB - maybe 2x 74gb's instead? in RAID-0 for fast system disk? Just a thought, the 150 is a nice drive though.
HD2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 400GB SATA 3.0Gb/s - yup
DVD-RW: Plextor PX-716AL/SW - bit overpriced for a DVD-R/W but not too bad