torcor

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
when I start my computer it says my processor is running 990mhz and my ram is running 233mhz then it says that my cpu is unworkable or has been changed hit del to enter soft menu or f1 to continue. I have been hitting f1 and the computer works.

I know my cpu is a athalon 2100 and my ram is suposed to be running at 400 mhz, is this going to slow down my computer. How can i fix it?

voidb4me2

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2006
Do you know anything about your bios?
Im no expert but I had a computer that used to set my FSB and cpu clock to stupidly low levels after a bad boot. All I had to do was go into the bios and reset the defaults and it would be fine. (to do that press delete as it suggests and itll take u to a blue menu screen, where u should see pretty quickly how u can reset defaults)
Do that first - if that doesnt work, check the cd that shipped with with your motherboard for a utility that will help you Flash your bios. If it doesnt have one, go to your motherboard manufacturers website and poke about in the support section for information on flashing your bios - i guarantee you, they will have instrustions and a file for u to download.

If after flashing u still have the problem, im out of advice.

Good luck

MCGTech

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2006
when I start my computer it says my processor is running 990mhz and my ram is running 233mhz then it says that my cpu is unworkable or has been changed hit del to enter soft menu or f1 to continue. I have been hitting f1 and the computer works.

I know my cpu is a athalon 2100 and my ram is suposed to be running at 400 mhz, is this going to slow down my computer. How can i fix it?

Your cmos battery is probably dead. It's not unusual for the bios to default to safe (slow) settings when the cmos settings have been lost or the system fails to start due to erroneous settings. Look for a watch battery on your motherboard and replace it.