conroe help...............ok its time

satch_rules5150

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2006
so i have been lurking here for a while trying to gather info on conroe and i'm at wits end.........so it's time to give you my full story.

lets say i'm a moderatley informed PC novice. i make no claims to be a hardware expert, however i'm in a postion of a lifetime.

i don't want to give exact details.....but.......i was given (by a intel insider friend) what will be known as a ES6300, 1.83ghz/1066FSB/2MB conroe test chip and a intel 975"badaxe" mobo. this friend is not in a postion to help get it up and running, because he/she was not supposed to have either the chip or mobo in the first place.

i would kill to get this beast running but i'm too intimidated to do it alone. so if anyone is willing to help via this forum or perhaps in person i would be grateful.

questions, comments and advice?

choknuti

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
i was given (by a intel insider friend) what will be known as a ES6300, 1.83ghz/1066FSB/2MB conroe test chip and a intel 975"badaxe" mobo. this friend is not in a postion to help get it up and running, because he/she was not supposed to have either the chip or mobo in the first place.

If what you claim is true (note I am giving you the benefit of the doubt here :) ) what exactly is your problem? Do you need advice on how to assemble the system? Or is it something else?

satch_rules5150

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2006
no the mobo has not been modded....thats what i need help with.

and as far as any legal issues are concerned. i know for a fact that there are many of these "test" chips in the hands of "mom & pop" developers in my area. i asked my intel friend and he/she said that intel has been giving out this bundle to lots of test sites like THG for a few weeks now. so i doubt mine will pop up on any radar.