Sign in with
Your question

No display with new computer

Last response: in Systems
April 22, 2006 6:45:47 AM

Thanks for looking, I'm having a problem with a computer I'm building for a teacher at school and I really hope I can solve it. Here's the parts, all of them were bought from online retailers.

Thermaltake Armor case
Antec Truepower 550W
Athlon X2 4400+
Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe
2GB Kit OCZ Platinum DDR400 memory
Radeon x1800 crossfire edition
Radeon x1800xt
Seagate 500gb SATA barracuda
X-FI Sound blaster
BenQ 1655 DVD burner
Song DVD Rom
Floppy

I'm not an expert on computer building, but I have built my own computer. My friend and I slowly assembled everything. Here's some of the issues that we encountered.

When my friend was handling the cpu heatsink, he accidently put his finger on the thermal grease and there is a fingerprint and a very tiny area without grease but thats it.

We installed the 9 standoffs hex screw things for the mobo. The mobo is supposed to be placed right on top of the 9 standoffs right?

We are not sure if we correctly connected the case plugs that go into the mobo at the bottom. (power button, speaker, lights, etc.) Theres no way to tell which side of the plug is + or -.
When we tried to install the usb plugs of the case, the instructions are to plug a certain plug into a certain number. There is a 1 on the bottom left plug on the mobo to show that's number 1, but we dont' know which is number 2. We guessed it was like this:
2 4 6
1 3 5 7

The power button, reset button, and case speaker do not work when connected to the mobo. My friend got the idea of plugging those plugs into the mobo of another computer we had, and they work. We still dont' know what's the problem.