Sign in with
Your question

Is this true?

Last response: in CPUs
April 22, 2006 2:22:00 PM

I've been hearing this thing about amd processor since a few years back until now.... so, i just want opinions of forum posters..... does amd processor's performance deteriorate through time?

More about : true

April 22, 2006 2:42:03 PM

Dude thats bull crap!
April 22, 2006 2:43:01 PM

Don't know where you heard that...but that is compete rubbish...there's nothing to wear out...no moving parts whatsoever. They only seem slower compared to newer, faster processors...their performance does not degrade. Where did you hear that? Seems like some bizarre Intel propaganda to me...complete nonsense. Any idea why only AMD chips and not say graphics card processors or audio chips etc.?
Related resources
April 22, 2006 2:46:19 PM

No more than any Intel processor would. I used to have an old AMD Athlon maching running, and it was working for a good 4 years before I decided to ugrade it. But that was not due to the processors performance deteriorating, it was just getting old.

My current machine is running off of a AMD Athlon 3700+, and its performance hasn't degraded at all since the day I built it. (maybe that is because I only built it 2 weeks ago).

Either way, AMD processors last just as long as an Intel processor. But keep in mind, overclocking does shorten the lifespan of computer components if you aren't cooling them well.
April 22, 2006 2:47:57 PM

I haven't done any benchmarking over the lifetime of the processor, but I can say one thing. I have an 1800+ palamino core AMD, and the felt performance is exactly the same to me even after 2-3, maybe 4 years (memory isn't so good as to when I got it).