Asking Tom's Gurus For Support

TONY_M07

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2006
I have been a long time reader, but first time poster :p

My problem is that I have been wanting to buy a new CPU for a while, was set on one, and then all the recent posts in here and other forums have now pulled me to another possible choice.

I have read numerous posts of single vs dual core, and will not ask the benefits and problems with each as that is a tired topic.

My question is more specific to my needs. I am a gamer, however I am a student and not rich :)

I currently have a Athlon XP 2400+ (tbred core) lightly overclocked to 300mhz FSB for about 2250 mhz. I have 1 Gb Kingston value pc 3200 (512 mb x2 dual) and a BFG 6600GT AGP (currently RMA'd due to temp problems.)

Originally I had my eye set on a 939 3700+ with 1mb L2 Cache, but the recent overclocking results of the Op 165 have pulled my eyes in a different direction. I know that in both cases I will most likely be GPU limited in the same way, but getting results close to a FX 60 are very tempting.

However given the price, $255 can for the 3700+ and the $400 for the 165, and the fact that I will not be buying new ram, should i just stick to the 3700+? I know there are ram dividers, but with an Asrock dual and cheap ram will overlocking even be worth the money/ risk of getting a bad revision.

I say again, I am aiming for a cheap upgrade. I game, I do encode dvds, but I don't have the money right now, or anytime soon for a new GPU to replace my 6600GT, will not replace my Ram, and do not care about AM2, or Conroe since both require changes of Ram and GPU which as i said before is not an option for me.

Thanks in advance for all your opinions.
TONY M

k2000k

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006