Sign in with
Your question

Passes the girlfriend test... but what sound rig do YOU have

Last response: in Components
April 25, 2006 5:50:25 PM

I've recently purchased a Creative X-Fi Platinum

...and a set of Logitech Z-5450 5.1 surround speakers.

They sound great, and kick out more than enough bass to destroy a small building when the sub is set to less than 30%. I also got them because they have the wireless rear speakers... because I live in rented accommodation, it really helps to be able to move them around without fixings/wires to worry about.

...and it passes the girlfriend test. She hates PC's, hates the fact that I like to use one even more, and yet sits quite happily with me damaging her eardrums.

Oh, and I'm a rock musician, she likes dance / RnB. I also like gaming in 5.1 surround, and watching movies.

So, there you have it - the X-Fi/Logitech z-5450 combo - sounds great, pisses off the neighbours, and passes the girlfriend test.

PS: To all the stereo purists, I used to run my PC into a Sony 2x70w stereo amplifier and then into some 120w RMS 4-ft high floorstanding speakers. I don't intend to go back any time soon!

PPS: Yes I know 5.1 sux for music creation, so I use my sennheisser HD477 headphones for mixing.

Let me know what sound rigs you guys have...
April 25, 2006 7:13:30 PM

What floor standing speakers did you come from?

Could they be that poor as to not stand up to somthing from logitech? Or did you make the switch to have sound come from behind you and to make it easier to move around?
April 25, 2006 7:45:29 PM

Quote:
did you make the switch to have sound come from behind you and to make it easier to move around?

That is precisely it, otherwise I would have purchased a separate 5.1 surround amplifier and speakers and used the optical digital output from the X-Fi. I definitely wanted to move up to a 5.1 setup from a 2 speaker setup because I watch DVDs on the PC and wanted to game in surround sound.