HELP with which card for editing

twolfe18

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2006
honestly, i am no expert in the field, but i would recommend getting a current generation card like a x1600 or 7600gs. they may be out of your price range, but they will give you good performance.

speaking of which, i will ask the question to any of you who know, can a video card help in RENDERING (video or 3d animation)? i know it can help in stuff like autocad when scrolling around looking at your model, but does it help in rendering?

Ian

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2004
What sort of inputs do you need the card to have?

The cheaper X800gto is definately a good buy, don't get the X1600XT, way overpriced.

Depending on what you want to spend:

1. X800GTO good deal, beats anything in the price range. Make sure you get one that is no more then $100.

2. X850XT or 7600GT for around $150 would be a big performance increase in gaming.

cleeve

Illustrious
If you're focus is 80% video editing and 20% gaming, the X1600 XT is the easy choice.

Ati's X1x00 generation of cards have excellent DVD playback features as well as accelerated video rendering capabilities with the Avivo software...

Ian

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2004
Cleeve wrote:
If you're focus is 80% video editing and 20% gaming, the X1600 XT is the easy choice.

Ati's X1x00 generation of cards have excellent DVD playback features as well as accelerated video rendering capabilities with the Avivo software...

Yeah but it is more expensive then a 7600GT and 850XT. Are the differences in video rendering etc really that much better then those cards?

Cause it isn't like the 7600GT, X850XT, X800GTO etc, have horrible video rendering capabilities, or do they? I'm just saying if you aren't doing like near-professional level stuff, would you really need the extra features, power, of the X1600XT.

buckiller

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2006