Sign in with
Your question

HELP! I'm new to graphics cards.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 26, 2006 2:52:26 PM

I was looking for a little help in the graphics card area. I know a fairly decent amount about computer but I have always had a laptop where upgrading wasn't really a concern. Now I have an HP a1330n and I am looking to support dual LCD monitors. I am trying to find a graphics card on a budget since the monitor is around $250 (I'd like to stay under $50 if at all possible). I know that both monitors will be VGA so I was wondering if someone could point out the benefits of having a card with 1VGA and 1DVI or if I should just stick with 1VGA that I need and save a lot of money. I am looking to make the purchase through Newegg (unless someone has a better suggestion). What I would really like your help with is the different things to look for in a graphics card and what does GPU, the core clock, pipelines, memory clock RAMDAC, all of that sort of stuff mean? A big question I have is Nvidia or ATI? Also, heatsink or fan and just those sorts of questions. I guess what I'm basically looking for is a crash course on graphics cards and help in selecting one on a budget from Neweg. Thank you so much to anyone that tackles this huge "question."

More about : graphics cards

April 26, 2006 3:34:34 PM

Okay, first things first. Will it be AGP, PCI or PCIx16? Also, what will you be using it for? Games? Movies? Encoding? Or is it just for general use?
April 26, 2006 3:39:48 PM

It will be PCI express and I'm not into gaming so it won't be for that but really just movies and general use of photoshop every now and then. Hope this helps.
Related resources
April 26, 2006 3:41:17 PM