Sign in with
Your question

Searching for a graphics Card....

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 27, 2006 1:40:28 AM

I own a Dell Dimension 3000 with an Intel Pentium Processor 4 with a 3 gig CPU, and 1.25 gigs of RAM. Not sure if it's capable of having a PCIe or just a PCI, so any info on that would be greatly appreciated. I'll be using it mostly for games, and I wouldn't like to spend more then 300 dollars or so. Any suggestions would be great. And I'm pretty new to this so please try to keep the graphics card experienced lingo to a mininum. Thanks!
April 27, 2006 2:04:23 AM

Dude you cant upgrade dell dimension graphics card no matter how hard you try. First off no agp or pci-e slot on models 3000. And down second off you cant use pci graphics cards cause of the chipset it wont allow it(Just one more reason why I hate dell :x )
April 27, 2006 2:13:30 PM

No, when i bought it i opted for it not to come with a graphics card, and there definetly is a slot for a pci or pci-e, i just dont know which one it is, im sure i could add a graphics card, ive opened the pc and seen the slot. So assuming it is pci-e, what do you think the best choice is for under 300$
Related resources
April 27, 2006 2:19:10 PM

Ok well is the slot black or brown?
April 27, 2006 3:07:29 PM

ok does it look like this

or this

(look at the first slot at the top not the white ones at the bottom)
April 27, 2006 5:00:41 PM

piddys correct. The 3000 only has regular everday PCI slots, NO PCI-E or PCI-X.

Which means you'd probably end up with a Radeon 9200 or 9250 for an upgrade.

In this situation, I can agree with hating Dell like dvdpiddy does.

You might be able to drop in this Epox board along with this X800GTO for about $200 and some change.